Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Bible Study and Research: Online Resources

BIBLE STUDY AND RESEARCH: GETTING STARTED

Websites

Working Preacher is a collection of resources for preaching and a ministry of the Center for Biblical Preaching at Luther Seminary.

   

 

 

 

  

Enter the Bible offers a wealth of resources to help you grow in your faith, add depth to your Bible studies and truly discover the people, places and events of the Bible.

 

 

Bible Odyssey

Bible Odyssey was created by SBL (the Society of Biblical Literature). Resource categories are People, Places, Passages, and Bibles. Includes an image gallery, a selection of basic articles about study of the Bible, and videos.

Divinity Library - Vanderbilt University

The Art in the Christian Tradition (ACT) database is a freely available, regularly updated visual image internet resource. Designed for scholars, students, pastors, and religious educators, all of the images may be used for educational and/or religious non-profit purposes. Images are added regularly. There are currently 4252 images in the collection. The images are linked to the Revised Common Lectionary.

Online Licensed Resources

 

  • Ministry Matters
    Contains many excellent full text resources including: The New Interpreter‘s Bible Commentary, the New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible, the Dictionary of Biblical Interpretation, the Storyteller's Bible, Dictionary of Pastoral Care and Counseling. Also includes preaching ideas, articles and blogs.
     
     
    This resource provides the full content of six study Bibles published by Oxford University Press, in addition to related supplementary material: a growing encyclopedia, timelines, images, maps, etc.

Online Bible Commentaries

For many other online Bible Commentaries also see the above COMMENTARIES tab of this LibGuide