Skip to Main Content

Biblical Studies Online: Home

Biblical Studies Online: online resources available 24/7 to Luther students via Luther Library subscriptions and acquisitions       

  • For New Books in Biblical Studies (both print and ebook formats) see "New Books in Biblical Studies"
  • For an Orientation to Biblical Studies resources including 'exegesis', commentaries, articles, Hebrew & Greek language tools, and Accordance software, see our general Bible Study Guide, as well as our Video Tutorials for using Luther Library

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Bible-related Databases 

 

(ATLA Religion Database                                           (also see our tutorial on using ATLA)

Biblical Studies : Annual collections of scholarly bible and biblical related publications curated by Bloomsbury; or see Biblical Studies listed by years.

Online Bible Commentaries, Bible-related ebooks

 

Anchor Yale Bible CommenariesAnchor/Yale Bible Commentaries (86 vols of scholarly commentaries on almost every book of Bible)

Hermeneia: A Critical and Historical Commentary on the Bible 

International Critical Commentary

Luther's Works (English translation including many commentaries)

New Interpreter's Bible Commentary (in Ministry Matters database)

Individual EBOOKs on Bible:: search our  online 'Catalog' by Bible book; add filter for ebooks, for ex: Subject: "Bible Genesis" finds 55 e-commentaries on Genesis.

Online Bible Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

 

Apocryphal New Testament

Art and the Bible--free database for Bible-related art

Encyclopedia of the Bible and its Reception 

New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible (in Ministry Matters database)

New Oxford annotated Bible with Apocrypha

Oxford Encyclopedia of Biblical Interpretation

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the Bible

Oxford Bible Atlas (4th ed.)

Oxford Bible Commentary

Oxford Companion to the Bible

Oxford History of the Biblical World

Oxford Handbooks  (125 Handbooks on the Bible & Religion)

**********************************************************************
Online Journals in Biblical Studies: a few 'full-text' journals currently available in Luther's databases:
Search using ATLA Database: Concordia Journal; Currents in Theology and Mission; Journal for the Study of the Old Testament; Journal for the Study of the New Testament; Journal of Feminist Studies in Religion; Journal of Biblical Theology; Journal of Biblical Literature; Journal of Theological Interpretation; Lutheran Quarterly; Unio cum Christo; 
Also available full-text: Journal of the American Academy of Religion (Oxford Univ link); Interpretation: a Journal of Bible and Theology (Sage Pubs)

Bible Commentary and Criticism: Recent Ebooks