Luther Seminary: Philosophy resources: Home

Searching the Catalog With Philosophy Subject Headings

Ethics
See also Christian ethics, Bioethical issues, Ethical problems.

These are some of the Library of Congress Subject Headings that you can use to search for philosophy in WorldCat. Type "su:" and the subject heading to search, or do a keyword search and look at the subject headings assigned to individual books to find other useful headings.

Aesthetics
Philosophical theology
Philosophy and religion
Philosophy, European
Example: Add "--19th century" or "--20th century" to specify a period.
Ontology
Phenomenology
Hermeneutics
Existentialism
Philosophy, American
Example: Add "--19th century" or "--20th century" to specify a period.

Philosophy Resources on the Internet and on Luther Sem's Databases

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Stanford University's online encyclopedia of philosophy has a wide range of topics, with articles contributed by philosophers from every area.

A selection of open internet resources for information about philosophy.

PhilPapers: Online Research in Philosophy
An online index of research literature in philosophy. Has an open access archive.
Daily Nous: a source for news about the philosophy profession
A blog run by Justin Weinberg, associate professor of philosophy at University of South Carolina. In addition to news about the philosophy profession, the blog has discussions of philosophical topics and nerdy fun.
Jobs in Philosophy
Search for job postings in philosophy, or look at recent appointments.

You can search the following DATABASES much like you would search the library catalog. Searching by keyword will turn up a list of items that you can scan for the subject headings assigned to them. You can use these subject headings to do a more precise search for the type of articles you want. Alternatively, you can browse the databases' indexes to see what subjects they contain, and use those subjects to search.

ATLA Religion Database is focused on religion, theology and related philosophy.

The following are general academic databases, so they have articles on a range of topics. They can also be a good source for philosophy articles.

JSTOR has a subject index that you can browse. Otherwise, searching JSTOR is by keyword, author or title.

Twentieth Century Religious Thought allows you to search the content of an array of important 20th century texts. It has a subject index that you can browse, and an advanced search option that allows you to search texts precisely.

Special Topics in the Philosophy of Religion

Perplexed about Theology or Philosophy? See our series of books, "Guide for the Perplexed" and its original author, Maimonides.
The God Debate: from the Ancient Arguments to the New Atheism
Theodicy: the Problem of Evil vs. the Goodness of God (in process: feedback welcome!)
Process Theology, Open Theism, and Christian Panentheism (in process)
Freedom vs. Determinism (in process)
Epistemology: How Do We Know Anything?
Justice vs. Grace and Love (in process)