Imaginative 18th c. depiction of Maimonides
Maimonides' classic work, Guide for the Perplexed, has spawned volumes of works on Philosophy and Theology by the same title, "A Guide for the Perplexed"--see our series on this title
Select brief Reference sources:
Maimonides in Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Maimonides in Encyclopedia Judaica
Maimonidean Controversy in Encyclopedia Judaica
Moses Maimonides in Britannica
Lectures on Maimonides' Mishneh Torah from the Chabod at Oxford
on Levine also see "Biblical Theologians"
American Jewish Theologians--Wikipedia links
Jewish Biblical Scholars--Wikipedia links
NOTE: Hundreds more articles may be available on Maimonides that are not full-text online, but available from our library or via Interlibrary loan. Simply use the online catalog as follows: If you are looking for books/articles written BY Maimonides you should search our online catalog or databases for his name as an AUTHOR (Moses Maimonides 1135-1204). If you want to find resources ABOUT Maimonides or his theology, search for Subjects related to him ("Jewish Philosophy" or Judaism and philosophy, for example)
Luther Sem subscriptions to academic periodicals in Jewish studies: Journal of Modern Jewish Studies and Jewish Studies Quarterly and Hebrew Bible and Ancient Israel (all are full-text, with current issues online in ATLA)
Also consult the following databases for helpful articles or abstracts on Maimonides: Both JSTOR and Open Access Theological Library have thousands of book chapters or articles on Maimonides-- JSTOR link. OADTL link
