Luther Seminary: Home: Library Tutorials

Database Specific Guides

New Tutorials on Using ATLA (Spring 2024)

Searching in the ATLA Database
A helpful collection of tutorials on searching and interpreting results found in the ATLA database.

-- Includes Scripture Search Tutorial
more...less...
Created by Nathan Thebarge at the Rolfing Library of Trinity International University
How to Search in JSTOR
Helpful tips for searching the JSTOR databases for eBooks and articles.

Searching in the Luther Library Online Catalog

KEYWORD SEARCHING
Basic keyword searching.
ADVANCED SEARCHING
More advanced search options in the online catalog.
REFINING SEARCH RESULTS
Using limit filters to refine search results.
UNDERSTANDING THE TITLE INFORMATION RECORD
How to decipher a title / item record from your results list.
SEARCHING FOR DISSERTATIONS AND THESES
How to locate print or electronic examples of theses submitted to Luther Seminary.
PLACING HOLDS FOR LIBRARY MATERIALS
How to place a hold for materials to be held for pick-up at the circulation desk

Video Introductions and Guides

(only available to current Luther Seminary students)

Introduction to the Library Web Page -- Peter Watters

Searching the Library Web Page for Books, Articles, and Other Resources -- Fred Sweet

Writing Assistance and Support at Luther Seminary -- Peter Susag

Other Guides and Tutorials

ZOTERO Guides
How to install and use Zotero, a free bibliographic program for organizing sources and creating footnotes and bibliographies.
more...less...
Created by Jason Plunkett at the Georgia State University Library

Contact Us

General Questions: library@luthersem.edu

Inter-Library Loan, Reserves, Patron Accounts: pwatters002@luthersem.edu

Circulation Desk Phone: 651-641-3447