Bibliographic overviews of Polkinghorne's life and work:
Wikipedia--an introduction to Polkinghorne
If you are looking for books written BY Polkinghorne you should search our online catalog** for his name as an AUTHOR: J C Polkinghorne 1930-2021.
If you want to find resources ABOUT Polkinghorne or his theology, search for his name as a SUBJECT:
J C Polkinghorne 1930-2021., or "Religion and science" for example.
Select full-text articles on Polkinghorne from ATLA database via Luther Sem catalog access
JSTOR and JSTOR ebooks: use Advanced Search mode to specify 'Book Chapters' or full-text articles on Polkinghorne
Free access to several full text articles and ebook chapters on Polkinghorne, including this 2020 doctoral dissertation:
...............................................................
For more resources and research helps concerning 'Science and Religion' see this Research Guide
Here are some other scientists, past or present, with a 'theological focus': Francis Collins, Wolfhart Pannenberg, Ian Barbour, Blaise Pascal, Alister McGrath**, Werner Heisenberg, Johannes Kepler, Arthur Peacocke, Teilhard de Chardin, and many others.; also see this YouTube on '10 leading scientists on science and faith'
**Science and Religion: A New Introduction 3rd Edition (2020) by
The leading introductory textbook on the study of religion and the natural sciences, including new coverage of the latest topics in the field Science and Religion provides students with a thorough introduction to the major themes and landmark debates in the interaction of science and religion. Incorporating history, philosophy, the natural sciences, and theology, this popular textbook examines how science and religion approach central questions and discusses the relationship between the two areas through the centuries. The authoritative and accessible chapters are designed for readers with minimal knowledge of science or theology. Written by one of the world's leading authorities on the study of religion and science, this fully revised and updated third edition addresses contemporary topics and reflects the latest conceptual developments in the field. New and expanded chapters and case studies discuss Scientism, evolutionary theodicy, the Theory of Relativity, warranted belief in science and religion, the influence of science and religion on human values, and more. The most up-to-date introduction to this exciting and rapidly growing field, this textbook: Offers an engaging, thematically-based approach to the subject Provides historical context for major events in science and religion Explores scientific and religious perspectives on Creation and the existence of God Discusses models, analogies, and issues at the intersection of science and religion One of the most respected and widely adopted textbooks in the field, Science and Religion: A New Introduction, 3rd Edition is an ideal resource for college, seminary, and university students in courses in science and religion; church or community courses in the relation of science and faith; and general readers looking for an inclusive overview of the field.
