Skip to Main Content

Gregory of Nazianzus: a bibliography: Home

Gregory of Nazianzus, 329--390


A Byzantine-style icon depicting
Three Holy Hierarchs(left to Right)
Basil the Great, John Chrysostom 
and Gregory the Theologian.

Quick Reference Sources on Gregory of Nazianzus;

Cambridge Companion to The Apostolic Fathers

Westminster Handbook to Patristic Theology (McGuckin, 2004)

Wikipedia on Gregory of Nazianzus: an overview

The Early Christian World  (2017)

T&T Clark Handbook of the Early Church (2022)

Gregory Nazianzus: EBOOK commentaries

Select Books and Full-text Articles on Gregory of Nazianzus (Greek: Γρηγόριος ὁ Ναζιανζηνός, c. 329– January 390)

NOTE: Many more articles may be available on Gregory that are not full-text online, but available from our library or via Interlibrary loan. Simply use the online catalog as follows: If you are looking for books/articles written BY Gregory you should search our online catalog or databases for his name as an AUTHOR (Gregory, of Nazianzus, Saint).  If you want to find resources ABOUT Gregory of Nazianzus, search for his name as SUBJECT.

Luther Sem Library has 100+ Books on Gregory of Naz (here), including several EBOOKS here; plus many others available by ILL ("Minitex")

Also consult the following databases for helpful articles or abstracts on Gregory of Nazianzus:

For hundreds of Primary and Secondary source materials on Gregory of Nazianzus, see this JSTOR link (Luther Sem students)

OADTL Includes over 100 articles and chapters on Gregory; for example, this 2010 PhD dissertation, Trinitarian grammars : a comparison of Gregory of Nazianzus and some contemporary models by K. Goad

For digital resources, including rare manuscripts, on/of Gregory, see the Digital Vatican Library

Overview and links to Gregory's works via the Boston Collaborative Encyclopedia of Western Theology 

 

Select Books on Gregory of Nazianzus (EBOOKS noted by **)