Skip to Main Content

Gutierrez, Gustavo, and Global Theologies: Home

Here you will find resources by and about Gustavo Gutierrez and other global theologians of the 20th century.

Theologians of the Early Church through the 21st Century

Gustavo Gutierrez, 1928--

Gutierrez in Wikipedia
"Liberation Theology and Social Activism" (2014 speech)

Introducing 'Global Theology'
African Theology: a short list of RECENT books at Luther Sem Library
(many are EBOOKS linked to our catalog)
Asian theology: 100 books at Luther Sem Library
Korean Minjung Theology
18 Asian Female Theologians You Should Know About

Jonathan Edwards on Global Theology

Featured Books: Gutierrez and Global Theologies

Latinx Perspectives on the New Testament (2022)

African Biblical Studies : unmasking embedded racism and colonialism in biblical studies (2023)

Emerging Theologies from the Global South (2023)

African Initiative and Inspiration in the East African Revival (2022)

Faith and Power : Latino religious politics since 1945 (2022)

Spirit Wind: the doctrine of the Holy Spirit in global theology : a Chinese perspective

Tapestry of Grace: untangling the cultural complexities in Asian American life and ministry

From a Liminal Place: an Asian American theology

Introducing Latinx Theologies

Gustavo Gutierrez

On the Side of the Poor: the theology of liberation

The Density of the Present: selected writings

The God of Life

Gustavo Gutierrez

John Song: modern Chinese Christianity and the making of a new man

Teaching Global Theologies

Christian Theology in the Pluralistic World: a global introduction

Religions of Beijing

The Missiological Spirit: Christian Mission Theology in the Third Millennium Global Context

Renewing Christian Theology: systematics for a global Christianity

Theology Without Borders: an introduction to global conversations

Theologizing in Black: on Africana theological ethics and anthropology

Global Dictionary of Theology: a resource for the worldwide church

Global Theology in Evangelical Perspective

Solidarity and Defiant Spirituality: Africana lessons on religion, racism, and ending gender violence

Christianities in Asia

The Oxford Handbook of Christianity in Asia

Global Theology Books at Luther Sem

1,000 Books at Luther Sem on Gutierrez AND/OR Global theology

Also see our library's bibliography/LibGuide on Ada Maria Isasi-Diaz and Latin American Liberation Theology

Bibliographic Resources: journal articles, websites

ATLA full-text articles on Global theology
200+ full-text journal articles from Atla Religion from 2015 to 2020, on subject of "Global theology" (also African theology, Latin American theology, or Asia theology)
Reformed Theology and Global Christianity: The Cases of South Africa and Korea
Chapter from 2020 Oxford Handbook of Reformed Theology
Global Theology of Amos Yong

The Global Church in 2020: CT’s Top 20 International Articles

Online journals available through Luther Seminary databases: Journal of Religion in Africa (JSTOR access through 2016); Asia Journal of Theology; Journal of Theology for Southern Africa; Asian journal of Pentecostal studies; Journal of Asian evangelical theology.; Scriptura: International Journal of Bible, Religion and Theology in Southern Africa; Apuntes (Latin American Theology); Journal of Latin American Theology: Christian reflections from the Latino south.