Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Augustine, Saint: a bibliography: Home

Here you will find resources by and about St. Augustine, Christian theologian/biblical scholar of the 4th century.

Aurelius Augustine, Bishop of Hippo, 354-- 430

Triunfo de San Agustín.jpg

Bibliographic overviews of Augustine's life and work:

See our database: Augustine: The Works of Saint Augustine:  that includes the first complete translation of the works 

For an excellent overview of Augustine's life, works and theology, see Augustine through the Ages: an Encyclopedia (ed. Fitzgerald).

Also, Peter Brown's Augustine of Hippo: a Biography; and 

The Cambridge companion to Augustine   by David Vincent MeconiEleonore Stump

See this issue of Christian History magazine for its fine overview of Augustine's life and works

.................

Wikipedia

Featured Books

On the Road with Saint Augustine:  a real-world spirituality for restless hearts

Articles

   Academic Search Premier :  An index to academic journal literature

.  ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS : See above for select articles from Atla database

 

JSTOR :  Access to Arts and Sciences III and the Religion and Theology collections

   Religious and Theological Abstracts :  Index to articles in religion and theology since 1958, with over 2,100 article abstracts on Augustine (including English and non-English academic articles)

Other Online Resources

 

JSTOR ebooks: use Advanced Search mode to specify 'Book Chapters' or Books on Augustine

Search Tips

If you are looking for books written BY Augustine you should search our online catalog** for his name as an AUTHOR

If you want to find resources ABOUT Augustine or his theology, search for his name as a SUBJECT (Augustine, of Hippo, Saint, 354-430)

Luther Seminary Library Online Catalog

Online catalog to the Luther Seminary Library collection and resources held across the country.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS

Religious and theological database of citations and full-text articles and essays.