Luther Seminary: Barth, Karl: a bibliography: Home

Karl Barth, 1886-- 1968

Bibliographic overview of Barth's life and work:

Print Books at Luther Seminary Library, May 2020
About 400 titles on Barth, with non-English titles at end.
Barth Primary Source works at Luther Sem Library
Barth - The Digital Karl Barth Library
Oxford Handbook of Karl Barth : both print and ebook access
Wikipedia
Overview and links to Barth's works via the Boston Collaborative Encyclopedia of Western Theology

Featured Books

Beyond Immanence : the theological vision of Kierkegaard and Barth (2023)

Baptism in the Theology of Karl Barth in Biblical and Ecumenical Context (2023)

Divine Freedom and Revelation in Christ : the doctrine of eternity with special reference to the theology of Karl Barth (2023)

Trinity and Election : the Christocentric reorientation of Karl Barth's speculative theology, 1936-1942 (2023)

Karl Barth's Dialogue with Catholicism in Göttingen and Münster : its significance for his doctrine of God

Karl Barth's Church Dogmatics for Everyone, : a step-by-step guide for beginners & pros; Volume 1 - the Doctrine of the Word of God

Karl Barth: a life in conflict (2021)

Karl Barth's Doctrine of Sanctification: an exploration of Church dogmatics. 66 (2021)

Barth, Bonhoeffer, and Modern Politics

The Oxford Handbook of Karl Barth

Theology after Colonization: Kwame Bediako, Karl Barth, and the future of theological reflection

Sexual Difference, Gender, and Agency in Karl Barth's Church Dogmatics

The Essential Karl Barth: a reader and commentary

Karl Barth and Dietrich Bonhoeffer : theologians for a post-Christian world

Reading Karl Barth for the Church: a guide and companion

Karl Barth and Comparative Theology

Doxological Theology: Karl Barth on Divine Providence, Evil, and the Angels.

Introduction to the Theology of Karl Barth

As in a Mirror: John Calvin and Karl Barth on knowing God : a diptych

Karl Barth in conversation

The Cambridge Companion to Karl Barth

Online Resources on Karl Barth

Over 260 theses and dissertations on Barth available in Open Digital Theological Library (click here ); as well as numerous online books and open access journal articles.

Additional Barth studies available in our Project Muse database.

Our JSTOR database provides several thousand downloadable articles and ebook chapters on Barth: When you open the JSTOR search page, select Advanced Search and then indicate Books and articles

Center for Barth Studies at Princeton Seminary

Articles

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Religious and theological database of citations and full-text articles and essays.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to academic journal literature.
Over 8,000 publications are indexed, with accompanying access to the full text of the article for approximately 4,600 of these titles. Journals in the humanities, history, psychology, sociology, as well as religion & philosophy are amply represented.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to Arts and Sciences III and the Religion and Theology collections
Arts and Sciences III includes journals in languages and literature, as well as music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the history and study of art and architecture.
Religious and Theological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles in religion and theology since 1958.

Search Tips

If you are looking for books written BY Barth you should search our online catalog** or databases for his name as an AUTHOR.

If you want to find resources ABOUT Barth or his theology, search for his name as a SUBJECT (Barth, Karl, 1886-1968)

**Luther Seminary Library Online Catalog

Online catalog to the Luther Seminary Library collection and resources held across the country.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS

Religious and theological database of citations and full-text articles and essays.

Barth - The Digital Karl Barth Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contents include the English translation of Barth's Church Dogmatics.
The original German version, Die kirchliche Dogmatik, is also included as are the first 45 volumes of Barth's Gesamtausgabe, which includes hundreds of letters, sermons, lectures, conversations, and academic writings. These volumes are supplemented by seven additional German works that have not yet been published as part of the Gesamtausgabe and English translations of thirteen important texts by Barth.