Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Wesley, John: a bibliography: Home

Here you will find resources by and about John Wesley, founder of Methodism and Christian theologian of the 18th century, as well as some important Methodists of the 20th century

John Wesley, 1703- 1791

John Wesley Biography | Inspirational Christians

Bibliographic overviews of Wesley's life and work:

Complete Works of John Wesley (Bicentennial edition): most volumes of the Works of John Wesley are included in Luther Seminary's Ministry Matters database

Christian History magazine (June 2020) has a great overview of the Wesleys:  

 Also this issue on John Wesley

Wesley's Hymns: see "The Music of Faith" guide for Hymns.

.................

Wikipedia

Featured Books

Articles

   Academic Search Premier :  An index to academic journal literature

.  ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS :   

 

JSTOR :  Access to Arts and Sciences III and the Religion and Theology collections 

WESLEY & METHODIST STUDIES--an e-journal accessed through our JSTOR subscription. Full-text access available for articles between 2009--2016.  For 2017--2020, articles may be retrieved by InterLibrary Loan (contact our Library for details)

   Religious and Theological Abstracts :  Index to articles in religion and theology since 1958, with over 800 article abstracts on Wesley

Other Online Resources

 

JSTOR ebooks: use Advanced Search mode to specify 'Book Chapters' or Books on Wesley

Search Tips

If you are looking for books written BY Wesley you should search our online catalog** for his name as an AUTHOR

If you want to find resources ABOUT Wesley or his theology, search for his name as a SUBJECT (Wesley, John, 1703-1791)

**Luther Seminary Library Online Catalog

Online catalog to the Luther Seminary Library collection and resources held across the country.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS

Religious and theological database of citations and full-text articles and essays.

Brief Bibliographies for select Methodist theologians

A few other notable Methodist theologians of the 20th- 21st century (still being developed, Fall 2021):

  • Thomas Oden
  • Georgia Harkness
  • John Cobb
  • Randy Maddox
  • D. Stephen Long
  • Kenneth Collins
  • also see Marcella Althaus-Reid