Luther Seminary: Art and Images: Books and Resources on the Arts, Literature, and Film

Marilynne Robinson: Literature & Religion

Robinson in 2012 (Wikipedia link)

Marilynne Robinson interview: The faith behind the fiction - Reform Magazine

50 Books or chapters by/about Marilynne Robinson at Luther Sem Library.

Select Articles and Reviews about Robinson accessed via Luther's databases (114 are full-text)

A Few Books by or about Robinson

The Beauty of Souls : aesthetic encounters with Marilynne Robinson (2025)

Marilynne Robinson (2022 ebook): Rachel Sykes (Editor);

Gilead: 2005 Pulitzer Prize Winner for Fiction

A Political Companion to Marilynne Robinson (2016 EBOOK)

Select Classics of Christian Fiction

Here are Luther Library links to works by other Classical Christian fiction writers: Dante Alighieri, John Bunyan, G.K. Chesterton, Fyodor Dostoyevsky, C.S. Lewis, George MacDonald, Flannery O'Connor, Dorothy L. Sayers, J.R.R. Tolkien, Walter Wangerin

Luther Databases and Reference Books on the Arts

Books About Art

Luther Seminary Library Online Catalog This link opens in a new window

Articles about Art from Luther Databases:

Here's a list of possible word combinations and subject headings when searching for books or articles on art in various databases: Aesthetics books at Luther Library; Art, Ancient; Art and mythology; Art and religion; Art--Dictionaries; Art, Early Christian; Art, Medieval; Art, Renaissance; Christian art and symbolism; Christianity and art--Lutheran Church; Islam and art; Jewish art; Liturgy and art; Reformation and art; Religious art

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Over 8,000 publications are indexed, with accompanying access to the full text of the article for approximately 4,600 of these titles. Journals in the humanities, history, psychology, sociology, as well as religion & philosophy are amply represented.
Ancient Near East and the Mediterranean World This link opens in a new window
From the University of Chicago Library's Ancient Near East and Classics Collections. Topics: archaeology, art, history, language, law, and religions of Sumer, Babylonia, Assyria, Egypt, Nubia, Persia, and other ancient peoples of Anatolia and the Fertile Crescent, from the rise of Bronze Age Aegean culture through the Middle Ages.
Perseus Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Art in the Christian Tradition This link opens in a new window
Designed for scholars, students, pastors, and religious educators,.
All images may be used for educational and/or religious non-profit purposes.
Artcyclopedia: The Guide to Museum Quality Art on the Internet This link opens in a new window
Lnks organized by artist, movements, museum, media, subject, and nationality.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias of Interest

Benezit Dictionary of Asian Artists This link opens in a new window
Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization This link opens in a new window
Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium This link opens in a new window
Oxford Dictionary of Christian Art & Architecture This link opens in a new window
Oxford Dictionary of Late Antiquity This link opens in a new window

The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and the Arts by Timothy Beal (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9780199846511
Publication Date: 2016

Christ Cares for All (Image)

Christ Cares for All, from Art in the Christian Tradition, a project of the Vanderbilt Divinity Library, Nashville, TN. http://diglib.library.vanderbilt.edu/act-imagelink.pl?RC=57827 [retrieved September 5, 2020]. Original source: https://commons.wikimedia.org/ wiki/File:NatividadChurchjf8794_07.JPG.