Luther Seminary: Martin Bucer: a bibliography: Home

Martin Bucer (1491 – 1551)

Recommended brief Reference sources:

Wikipedia on Bucer
The Medieval Theologians, by GR Evans

The Cambridge Companion to Reformation Theology by David V. Bagchi (Editor); David C. Steinmetz
Call Number: BR305.3 .C35

Select Books and Full-text Articles on Martin Bucer

Martin Bucer: 100 Full-text, Peer-reviewed Articles from the Atla Religion and ASP Databases

NOTE: Hundreds more articles may be available on Bucer that are not full-text online, but available from our library or via Interlibrary loan. Simply use the online catalog as follows: If you are looking for books/articles written BY or About Bucer, you should search our online catalog or databases for this entry: Martin Bucer 1491-1551, or search for Subjects related to him ("Reformation Theology", for example).

Here's a link to Books on Bucer and his theology available at Luther Sem; many others available by interlibrary loan in Minnesota (Minitex)

Also consult the following databases for helpful articles or abstracts on Bucer (both JSTOR and Open Access Theological Library have hundreds of book chapters or articles on Bucer. For example, see "Martin Bucer" in JSTOR, including Bucer's article, "A Treatise Declaring and Showing That Images Are Not To Be Suffered in Churches". And in DigitalTheologicalLibrary, here's a PhD dissertation (2007, Aberdeen U): "Martin Bucer's Doctrine of Justification and the Colloquy of Regensburg 1541"

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to academic journal literature.
Over 8,000 publications are indexed, with accompanying access to the full text of the article for approximately 4,600 of these titles. Journals in the humanities, history, psychology, sociology, as well as religion & philosophy are amply represented.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Religious and theological database of citations and full-text articles and essays.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to Arts and Sciences III and the Religion and Theology collections
Arts and Sciences III includes journals in languages and literature, as well as music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the history and study of art and architecture.
Religious and Theological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles in religion and theology since 1958.
Open Access Digital Theological Library This link opens in a new window
Links to open source content in religious studies and related disciplines.
Post-Reformation Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents from the late 15th-18th centuries.