Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Irenaeus, Bishop of Lyon (c.130- 202 AD): a bibliography: Home

Here you will find resources by and about Irenaeus, Bishop of Lyon, Christian theologian of the 2nd century.

Irenaeus, Bishop of Lyon, c.130-- 202 AD

Print Books and Ebooks on Irenaeus linked to Luther Sem Library on Irenaeus

Bibliographic overviews of Irenaeus's life and work:

See our database: CCEL (Christian Classics Ethereal Library) for Irenaeus' works and History of the Christian Church, Volume II: Ante-Nicene Christianity

For an excellent overview of Irenaeus's life, works and theology, see Wikipedia

Also:  "Britannica Academic" (Luther Sem database): Saint Irenaeus"

See this issue of Christian History magazine for its fine overview of Irenaeus's life and works

 

Featured Books

Articles

   Academic Search Premier :  An index to academic journal literature

 

.  ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS : See above for select articles from Atla database

 

JSTOR :  Access to Arts and Sciences III and the Religion and Theology collections

   Religious and Theological Abstracts :  Index to articles in religion and theology since 1958, with over 400 article abstracts on Irenaeus (including English and non-English academic articles)

Other Online Resources

 

JSTOR : use Advanced Search mode to find several thousand 'Book Chapters' orJournal articles on Irenaeus

Search Tips

If you are looking for books written BY Irenaeus you should search our online catalog** for his name as an AUTHOR

If you want to find resources ABOUT Irenaeus or his theology, search for his name as a SUBJECT (Irenaeus Saint, Bishop of Lyon.)   

Luther Seminary Library Online Catalog

Online catalog to the Luther Seminary Library collection and resources held across the country.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS

Religious and theological database of citations and full-text articles and essays.