Luther Seminary: John Duns Scotus: a bibliography: Home

John Duns Scotus, c.1265- 1308

Recommended brief Reference sources:

Wikipedia on Scotus
The Medieval Theologians, by GR Evans

The Cambridge Companion to Duns Scotus, 2003 by Thomas Williams (Editor)
ISBN: 9780521632058

Select Books and Full-text Articles on Duns Scotus

Duns Scotus: 150 Full-text, Peer-reviewed Articles from the Atla Religion and ASP Databases

NOTE: Hundreds more articles may be available on Scotus that are not full-text online, but available from our library or via Interlibrary loan. Simply use the online catalog as follows: If you are looking for books/articles written BY or About Scotus, you should search our online catalog or databases for this entry: John Duns Scotus approximately 1266-1308,. or search for Subjects related to him ("Theology Middle Ages", "Scholasticism" or "Scotism" for example).

Here's a link to Books on Scotus and his theology available at Luther Sem; many others available by interlibrary loan in Minnesota (Minitex)

Also consult the following databases for helpful articles or abstracts on Scotus (both JSTOR and Open Access Theological Library have hundreds of book chapters or articles on Scotus. For example, see "Scotus" in JSTOR

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to academic journal literature.
Over 8,000 publications are indexed, with accompanying access to the full text of the article for approximately 4,600 of these titles. Journals in the humanities, history, psychology, sociology, as well as religion & philosophy are amply represented.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Religious and theological database of citations and full-text articles and essays.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to Arts and Sciences III and the Religion and Theology collections
Arts and Sciences III includes journals in languages and literature, as well as music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the history and study of art and architecture.
Religious and Theological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles in religion and theology since 1958.
Open Access Digital Theological Library This link opens in a new window
Links to open source content in religious studies and related disciplines.
Post-Reformation Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents from the late 15th-18th centuries.