Luther Seminary: Church Organization and Management Course: Getting Started

Welcome to the Library

2nd Floor of Gullixson Hall
2481 Como Avenue
St. Paul, MN 55108
651-641-3447
libcirc@luthersem.edu

Hours & Directions

Getting Started With Research

Things to consider when starting a research project:

Have a personal interest
Combine your own ideas with the ideas of others (your sources) to create a fresh perspective
Keep the scope of your research narrow
Stick to a single focus
Look at a controversial aspect of an area (pro vs. con)
Build a solid working knowledge through background reading

Reading for Background/Working Knowledge

Utilize specialized subject dictionaries and encyclopedias for overview, "lay of the land" type information. A few to consider (available both online and in print in the reference collection): Note the bibliographic references at the end of most entries.

Religious Leadership: A Reference Handbook
A collection of essays examining the issue of leadership within the matrix of religious faith traditions, denominations, organizations, and movements in North America. Bibliographies.
Encyclopedia of Leadership
Aspects of leadership across multiple disciplines. Leadership as a quality or trait.
The Gale Virtual Reference Library
A database of standard, high quality subject encyclopedias which can be searched together or individually.

Need Help? Look here!

Need help? Ask your question above or click on this link for many FAQs

Or... you can watch these video-tutorials on How to search Luther's online catalog and more.

Or.... email Luther Seminary Librarian Fred Sweet for individual help: (fsweet001@luthersem.edu)

Course Syllabus and Recommended Readings

additional course materials...