Basil "the Great" of Caesarea: a bibliography: Home

Icon of St. Basil the Great from the
St. Sophia Cathedral of Kiev (see news about St. Sophia Cathedral during the current war with Russia).

Quick Reference Sources on Basil:

Cambridge Companion to The Apostolic Fathers

Westminster Handbook to Patristic Theology (McGuckin, 2004)

Wikipedia on Basil the Great: an overview

The Early Christian World  (2017)

T&T Clark Handbook of the Early Church (2022)

NOTE: Many more articles may be available on Basil that are not full-text online, but available from our library or via Interlibrary loan. Simply use the online catalog as follows: If you are looking for books/articles written BY Basil you should search our online catalog or databases for his name as an AUTHOR (Basil Saint, Bishop of Caesarea, approximately 329-379.).  If you want to find resources ABOUT Basil the Great, search for his name as SUBJECT.

Luther Sem Library has 100+ Books on Basil the Great (here), including several EBOOKS here; plus many others available by ILL here ("Minitex")

Also consult the following databases for helpful articles or abstracts on Basil the Great:

For hundreds of Primary and Secondary source materials on Basil of Caesarea, see this JSTOR link (Luther Sem students)

• OADTL Includes over 147 articles and chapters on Basil; for example, this 2015 PhD thesis (U of Manchester): 
  The ecclesiology of St Basil the Great : a Trinitarian approach to the life of the Church.

For digital resources, including rare manuscripts, on/of Basil the Great, see the Digital Vatican Library