Luther Seminary: Pope Francis and the Catholic Theologians: a bibliography: Home

Pope Francis (Jorge Mario Bergoglio), 1936--

Wikipedia on Catholic Theologians

The Pope: Francis, Benedict, and the decision that shook the world by Anthony McCarten
Call Number: BX958.A23 M232
Publication Date: 2019-01-29

Recommended EBOOK: Oxford Handbook of Catholic Theology (2020); also the 2023 EBOOK, Oxford Handbook of Vatican II

Review of The Oxford Handbook of Catholic Theology in Theological Librarianship Journal (2022)

Explore the Digital Vatican Library

The Vatican Apostolic Library (Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana) has rich resources from Early Christianity to Medieval Theology at their online site here.

Select Books and Full-text Articles on Pope Francis and Catholic Theologians

Peer-reviewed Journal Articles from ATLA on Catholic Theology: a small sampling of recent (2020-2022) full-text articles
The “Catholic— Lutheran dialog”
From ATLA Religion Database: about 62 full-text, peer-reviewed articles (English only). Also see below for recent books on Luther & the Catholic Tradition

NOTE: Hundreds more articles may be available on Catholic Theology that are not full-text online, but available from our library or via Interlibrary loan.

Luther Sem Library has hundreds of Books (or chapters) on Catholic Theology (here); plus many others available by ILL. For journal articles also search (in ATLA) the Journal of Moral Theology. and the Catholic Biblical Quarterly (both quarterly Catholic publications)

Also consult the following databases for helpful articles or abstracts on Catholic Theology: (both JSTOR and Open Access Theological Library have hundreds of book chapters or articles on various themes within Catholic Theology).

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
An index to academic journal literature.
Over 8,000 publications are indexed, with accompanying access to the full text of the article for approximately 4,600 of these titles. Journals in the humanities, history, psychology, sociology, as well as religion & philosophy are amply represented.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to Arts and Sciences III and the Religion and Theology collections
Arts and Sciences III includes journals in languages and literature, as well as music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the history and study of art and architecture.
Religious and Theological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index to articles in religion and theology since 1958.
Open Access Digital Theological Library This link opens in a new window
Links to open source content in religious studies and related disciplines.

Select, recent articles on Catholic theology:

All of Us': The Future of Catholic Theology from the Perspectives of Queer Catholic Theologians of Color, panel discussion from Norbert College, Bryan Massingale, et al. 2022

Select Catholic Theologians of the Past 50 Years: brief bibliographies

Ada María Isasi-Díaz, 1943- 2012
Pierre Teilhard de Chardin, 1881-1955

Pope Francis and the Catholic Theologians: a bibliography: Home

Pope Francis (Jorge Mario Bergoglio), 1936--

Explore the Digital Vatican Library

Select Books and Full-text Articles on Pope Francis and Catholic Theologians

Select Catholic Theologians of the Past 50 Years: brief bibliographies

Recent (2023-24) Books on Catholic Theology (**designates EBOOK)

The Tyranny of the Banal : on the renewal of Catholic moral theology (2023)

Pope Francis and Mercy: a dynamic theological hermeneutic (2023)

The Future of Catholic Biblical Interpretation : Marie-Joseph Lagrange and beyond (2024)

**The Limits of a Catholic Spirit : John Wesley, Methodism, and Catholicism (2023)

**The Nazis, the Vatican, and the Jews of Rome (2023)

Faithful Teaching: Lutherans and Catholics in dialogue (2023)

**The Oxford handbook of Vatican II (2023 EBOOK)

Select Books on (or by) Pope Francis and Catholic Theology (**indicates EBOOK)

Pope Francis and Mercy: a dynamic theological hermeneutic (2023)

The Future of Catholic Biblical Interpretation : Marie-Joseph Lagrange and beyond (2024)

Vatican II: a Very Short Introduction (2023)

The Oxford handbook of Vatican II (2023 EBOOK)

The Tyranny of the Banal: on the renewal of Catholic moral theology (2023)

Go Forth : toward a community of missionary disciples (2019)

**In your eyes I see my words : homilies and speeches from Buenos Aires. Volume 1, 1999-2004 (2019)

**Laudato Si: on care for our common home (2015)

The Catholic Church and European State Formation, AD 1000-1500 (2023)

Theology and Ecology in Dialogue: the wisdom of Laudato si' (2021)

Thomas Merton, the monk of civil rights (2023)

Catholica: the visual culture of Catholicism

The Gospel of Luke: a spiritual and pastoral reading (2021)

Historical Foundations of Worship : Catholic, Orthodox, and Protestant perspectives (2022)

**Luther As HereticTen Catholic Responses to Martin Luther, 1518-1541. (2020)

Martin Luther and the Shaping of the Catholic Tradition: proceedings of the international conference held in Washington, DC (2022)

**On Earth As It Is in Heaven: cultivating a contemporary theology of creation (2021)

The Abuse of Conscience : a Century of Catholic moral theology (2021)

The Essential Summa Theologiae : a reader and commentary (2021)

The Possibility of Satan: a case for reformulating the Catholic Church's teachings on the devil (2021)

Thomas Aquinas and Karl Barth : a new conversation (2022)

Virtual Communion: theology of the Internet and the Catholic sacramental imagination (2021)

The Oxford Handbook of Catholic Theology

The Oxford Handbook of John Henry Newman