Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Edwards, Jonathan: a bibliography: Home

Here you will find resources by and about Jonathan Edwards, Christian theologian and philosopher of the 18th century.

Jonathan Edwards, 1703-- 1758

Jonathan Edwards.jpg

Bibliographic overviews of Edwards's life and work:

Cambridge Companion to Jonathan Edwards

Cambridge Companion to Puritanism

We also suggest these excellent research sites:

William Perkins Library (at Puritan Reformed Seminary, Grand Rapids, MI) has a wonderful research tool for finding journal articles on Edwards and all the Puritans: enter your search terms into the Puritan Studies Database.

The Jonathan Edwards Center at Yale University is perhaps the largest, most authoritative source for Edwards studies in the world.

The Jonathan Edwards Center at Puritan Reformed Seminary (Grand Rapids, MI) is a robust site of ongoing Edwards research, including the annual Edwardseana Newsletter.

See this issue of Christian History magazine for its fine overview of Edwards's life and works

.................

Wikipedia

Featured Books

Articles

   Academic Search Premier :  An index to academic journal literature

.  ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS : See above for select articles from Atla database

 

JSTOR :  Access to Arts and Sciences III and the Religion and Theology collections

   Religious and Theological Abstracts :  Index to articles in religion and theology since 1958, with over 400 article abstracts on Edwards (including English and non-English academic articles)

Other Online Resources

 

JSTOR ebooks: use Advanced Search mode to specify 'Articles' or 'Books' (for available ebooks) on Edwards

Search Tips

If you are looking for books written BY Edwards you should search our online catalog** for his name as an AUTHOR

If you want to find resources ABOUT Edwards or his theology, search for his name as a SUBJECT (Edwards, Jonathan, 1703-1758).

**Luther Seminary Library Online Catalog

Online catalog to the Luther Seminary Library collection and resources held across the country.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS

Religious and theological database of citations and full-text articles and essays.