Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Calvin, John: a bibliography: Home

Here you will find resources by and about John Calvin, the Reformer and Christian theologian/biblical scholar of the 16th century.

John (Jean) Calvin, 1509- 1564

 

Bibliographic overview of Calvin's life and work:

Related topics and Theologians:

Calvinism --WikipediaCalvinism: a very short introductionLuther and Calvinism (2017)

20th Century Reformed Theologians-- a Luther Sem LibGuide

Abraham Kuyper--"What Kuyper Can Teach Us 100 Years Later" (article from Christianity Today magazine online)

Abraham Kuyper and Public Theology--a website about his "Common Grace" publications

Oxford Handbook of Reformed Theology (a 2020 EBOOK)

 

Featured Books

Online Resources on John Calvin

Over 2,000 book chapters, articles, theses and dissertations on Calvin available in Open Digital Theological Library (click here); as well as numerous online books, including most of Calvin's own writings.

Our JSTOR database provides several thousand downloadable articles and ebook chapters on Calvin:  When you open the JSTOR search page, select Advanced Search and then indicate Books and articles 

Articles

 

 

Search Tips

If you are looking for books written BY Calvin you should search our online catalog** or databases for his name as an AUTHOR

If you want to find resources ABOUT Calvin or his theology, search for his name as a SUBJECT (Calvin, Jean, 1509-1564)

**Luther Seminary Library Online Catalog

Online catalog to the Luther Seminary Library collection and resources held across the country.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS

Religious and theological database of citations and full-text articles and essays.

 

Newest books acquired on Calvin