This is the "Special Collections" page of the "Collections & Access" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Collections & Access  

a guide to the collections at Luther Seminary
Last Updated: Oct 31, 2014 URL: http://luthersem.libguides.com/collections Print Guide RSS Updates

Special Collections Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reformation Research

Reformation Research Library

This microform collection supports the seminary's Reformation Research Program. It is a collection of microfilmed books, pamphlets, and other primary source material from major European universities and libraries documenting the religious and intellectual history of the Reformation period from its beginning to the end of the Thirty Years War in 1648. Items in this collection can be searched in our online catalog and are available for interlibrary loan. 

Catalog Search for Reformation Research Collection

 

Special Collections

All special collections are located on the third floor of Gullixson Hall.The Thrivent Reformation Research Program and Microform Collection occupy room 307.The Library's Rare Book Room houses the three print collections.

Use of items in these collections can be arranged by making an appointment with the Library 651-641-3226.

Pre-1800 Book Collection

The library has an extensive collection of books published before 1800 including volumes of theological treatises, biblical commentaries, liturgical works, etc. of Lutheran and other Protestant reformers of the 16-18th centuries.

Carl Døving Hymn Collection

Carl Døving (1867-1937) was a hymnologist and translator as well as a pastor of the Norwegian Lutheran Church in America. He gathered a hymnal collection of over 1,400 volumes representing over 325 languages and dialects.

Jacob Tanner Catechism Collection

Luther's Small Catechism has been translated into nearly as many languages and dialects as has the Bible. Dr. Jacob Tanner (1865-1964) taught at Luther Seminary from 1924-1938 and assembled a collection of Small Catechisms translated into languages from around the world.

Library Contact

Profile Image
Jennifer Bartholomew

Library Contact

Profile Image
Bruce Eldevik
Contact Info
651-641-3226
Send Email

Library Contact

Profile Image
Andy Keck
Contact Info
Send Email

Library Contact

Profile Image
Karen Alexander
Contact Info
651-641-3301
Send Email

Library Contact

Profile Image
Trisha Burr
Contact Info
651-641-3263
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip