Self-archiving and open access policies for publishers in religion and theology: Home

Chapters from all of our single-authored and edited research publications (not chapters or articles from our reference works where copyright has been assigned to Bloomsbury) are eligible for archiving in an institutional or subject repository after an embargo period of 18 months from the original publication date. Each individual author or contributor can choose to upload one chapter from the ‘Accepted Manuscript’ (AM): the pre-production (not copy–edited, proofread or typeset) Word Document or PDF of the chapter that has been accepted by Bloomsbury Academic. We ask that authors inform us when this has been done.

To encourage citation of an author’s work we recommend that authors insert a link from their posted AM to the published book on the Bloomsbury Academic website with the following text: "This is an Accepted Manuscript of a book chapter published by Bloomsbury Academic in [BOOK TITLE] on [date of publication], available online: https://www.bloomsbury.com/ [BOOK ISBN URL].”

Under certain conditions Brill allows the posting of publications in online repositories and open archives (self-archiving). The following is allowed, always with proper acknowledgement to the original publication:

Permitted use of Articles from Journals, Multi-Authored Books, and Encyclopedias:

Authors of articles published by Brill are permitted to self-archive the submitted (pre-peer-review) version of the article at any time. The submitted version of an article is the author's version that has not been peer-reviewed, nor had any value added to it by Brill (such as formatting or copy editing).
Authors of articles published by Brill are permitted to self-archive the accepted (peer-reviewed) version after an embargo period of 24 months [1]. The accepted version means the version which has been accepted for publication and contains all revisions made after peer reviewing and copy editing, but has not yet been typeset in the publisher’s lay-out. The publisher’s lay-out must not be used in any repository or on any website.

Policy (Version 1.0)

Our Green OA policy allows you to post a portion of your monographs online. This policy does not apply to textbooks, professional books for practitioners, or works of reference, no part of which may be posted online without our prior approval. The work is contracted under standard publishing terms and therefore any reproduction of the posted text is governed by the usual copyright restrictions.

Our Green OA policy also specifies what content can be shared in social sharing sites. See our social sharing page for more background information about social sharing.

While your manuscript is under review with us and before it is under contract, you may deposit it as you wish. However, there are restrictions on how much you may post online of the final version that has been accepted at the start of production – as well as of the published book (see below for restrictions information).

When posting a manuscript or published work, please ensure that you:

Include appropriate wording such as: “This material has been published in [Title] by / edited by [Author / Editor]. This version is free to view and download for personal use only. Not for re-distribution, re-sale or use in derivative works. © insert copyright holder.”
Include a link to the book in cambridge.org. Please also update your post of a submitted manuscript with this wording and links once the book is published.

The exclusive copyright to the article was granted to Mohr Siebeck when it was accepted for publication in a journal. Mohr Siebeck has the exclusive right to reproduce and distribute the contribution as well as to make it publicly accessible online. The author retains the right to distribute the e-offprint of his contribution for private use (e.g. via e-mail), but not to make it accessible to the public (e.g. at any website, intranet or repository).

One year following publication exclusivity falls away and the author may (a) reproduce and distribute a print version of his contribution; (b) grant another publisher non-exclusive permission to reprint the article one year after its publication with us; (c) make the print identical version accessible online for non-commercial purposes only. In all cases, full reference is to be made to the original Mohr Siebeck publication and mention made of the article's DOI (Digital Object Identifier).

Prior to publication
Prior to publication, you retain the right to make a maximum of one chapter (or article where appropriate) of the original pre-copyedited version of your work available on the following, where necessary:

your personal website
the website of your employer and/or
in pre-print servers (i.e. free public servers of original version articles or other content in your subject area)
This is permitted provided that you acknowledge that the content has been accepted for publication by including an acknowledgement as follows:

This is a draft of a chapter/article that has been accepted for publication by Oxford University Press in the forthcoming book [title] by/edited by (Author/editor) due for publication in [year].

After publication Oxford would also ask that you update this record to ensure that the details are accurate, and if possible include links to the OUP catalogue and webpage.


After publication
After publication you may reuse the following portions of your content without obtaining formal permission for the activities expressly listed below:

one chapter or up to 10% of the total of your single author or co-authored book,
a maximum of one chapter/article from your contribution to an edited book or collection (e.g. Oxford Handbooks),
a maximum of one chapter/article of your contribution to an online only, or digital original publication, or
three figures/illustrations/tables of your own original work
OUP is pleased to grant this permission for the following uses:

posting on the your own personal website or in an institutional or subject based repository after a 12 month period for Science and Medical titles and a 24 month period for Academic, Trade and Reference titles;
inclusion in scholarly, not-for-profit derivative reuses, (these can include the extension of your contribution to a book-length work, or inclusion in an edited collection of your own work, or any work of which you are an author or editor);
reproduction within coursepacks or e-coursepacks for your own teaching purposes, (with the proviso that the coursepacks are not sold for more than the cost of reproduction);
inclusion within your thesis or dissertation.
Permission for these reuses is granted on the following conditions:

that the material you wish to reuse is your own work and has already been published by OUP;
that the intended reuse is for scholarly purposes, for publication by a not-for-profit publisher;
that full acknowledgement is made of the original publication stating the specific material reused [pages, figure numbers, etc.], [Title] by/edited by [Author/editor], [year of publication], reproduced by permission of Oxford University Press [link to OUP catalogue if available, or OUP website];
In the case of joint-authored works, it is the responsibility of the authors to obtain permission from co-authors for the work to be reuse/republished.
that reuse on personal websites and institutional or subject based repositories includes a link to the work as published in an OUP online product (e.g. Oxford Scholarship Online), and/or or to the OUP online catalogue entry; and that the material is not distributed under any kind of Open Access style licences (e.g. Creative Commons) which may affect the Licence between yourself and OUP.

Self-archiving, also known as green open access, refers to the practice of depositing articles in an institutional repository or a subject repository under the CC-BY-NC-ND license.
No fee is payable by the author as publishing costs are covered by library subscriptions. An embargo period may apply. The article should link to the formal publication via its DOI.

SBL Press endorses a Green Open Access (GOA) policy. This policy allows the author to post or archive a PDF file of the postprint manuscript in specified types of open-access locations–the author’s institutional repository (IR) and the author’s personal or institutional website–following an eighteen-month embargo from publication date. The complete article citation must be provided as specified by SBL Press. - See more at: https://www.sbl-site.org/assets/pdfs/SBL-GOAPolicy.pdf

Author’s Original Manuscript (AOM)

This is your original manuscript (often called a “preprint”), and you can share this as much as you like. If you do decide to post it anywhere, including onto an academic networking site, we would recommend you use an amended version of the wording below to encourage usage and citation of your final, published article.

Accepted Manuscript (AM)

As a Taylor & Francis author, you can post your Accepted Manuscript (AM) on your personal website at any point after publication of your article (this includes posting to Facebook, Google groups, and LinkedIn, and linking from Twitter). To encourage citation of your work we recommend that you insert a link from your posted AM to the published article on Taylor & Francis Online with the following text:

“This is an Accepted Manuscript of an article published by Taylor & Francis in [JOURNAL TITLE] on [date of publication], available online: http://www.tandfonline.com/[Article DOI].”

For example: “This is an Accepted Manuscript of an article published by Taylor & Francis Group in Africa Review on 17/04/2014, available online: http://www.tandfonline.com/10.1080/12345678.1234.123456.

N.B. Using a real DOI will form a link to the Version of Record on Taylor & Francis Online.

The AM is defined by the National Information Standards Organization as:
“The version of a journal article that has been accepted for publication in a journal.”

This means the version that has been through peer review and been accepted by a journal editor. When you receive the acceptance email from the Editorial Office we recommend that you retain this article for future posting.

Embargoes apply if you are posting the AM to an institutional or subject repository, or to academic social networks such as Mendeley, ResearchGate, or Academia.edu.