Why Use EndNote?
EndNote (installed on all library & lab computers) makes it easy to compile and store your bibliographic data.
- Create and correctly format citations and bibliographies
- Keep all of your references in one location.
All relevant files (connection, output style and help guides) are linked on the right side of this page.
Download & Install EndNote
Students may download EndNote X7 and install the program on their own computer. Access Endnote software from this web page.
Instruction files are posted in the box at the top right of the page.
Add Resources from WorldCat
Search WorldCat, add resources to your library without typing. Instructions & information
- Click on the title hotlink.
- Click on Cite/Export
- Click on Export a Citation
- Click on Export to EndNote / Reference Manager
- Open the RIS file and Save, using the Research Soft Manager
Most of the time the resource will then be added to your EndNote library.
NOTE: The catalog connection file for MARTIN does NOT work anymore. We have a new catalog.
Search EBSCO Databases • Connection files
Enter the EBSCO Connection File information. This blog post shows information for the following databases (Luther Seminary login required).
- ATLA Religion Database and ATLASerials
- Academic Search Premier
- Catholic Periodical & Literature Index
- Family & Society Studies Worldwide
- New Testament Abstracts
- Old Testament Abstracts
What Other Files Will I Need?
Modified Output Style
An Output style displays your data according to the Chicago Manual of Style. We use a modified version of Chicago 16thA.
This output style is continually being updated in response to your questions. Open and save the file into your Endnote Styles folder. Click the Chicago 16thA modified output style at right and choose to open it with EndNote. From within EndNote, you will then save the file:
- Macs & PCs: File —> Save as
If you will cite a number of blogs, online multimedia, or Luther's Works, be sure also to download the .xml file linked. Save the .xml file to your desktop. If your browser opens the file instead of downloading it, right-click or Ctrl + click the link. Then, open EndNote. Once EndNote is open:
- Edit —> Preferences. Choose Reference Types from the list at left. Then under Reference Type Table, choose Import. Find the .xml file that you saved to your desktop and choose Open and then (PC) Apply or (Mac) Open and then save..
Modified Output Style - Annotated Bibliographies
Use this output style to create an annotated Bibliography listing basic information (author, title, publisher, year) and the annotations for each citation. Open and save the file into your Endnote Styles folder. The annotation goes in the Abstract data field.
- Macs & PCs: File —> Save as
- EndNote X7 Download & Install Instructions
- Help Document for Macs
- Help Document for PCs
- How To Add Resources from WorldCat (our catalog)
- Modified XML file for Chicago 16A - PC and Mac
- Modified Chicago 16A Annotated Output Style (PC & Mac)
- Call Numbers Chicago 16thA
- Modified Chicago 16th A Output Style
Endnote Support & Services
Support & Services: EndNote offers help and advice on its webpage. Luther students may contact EndNote for help (Luther has a site license, 1-800-336-4474).
- Tutorials (EndNote Basics)
- Guided Tour for PC/Mac
- User Guides
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) • Luther Seminary Technology Blog. Click on the cloud tag for EndNote. You'll find many good tips on using EndNote. Many FAQs are listed.