- Academic Search Premier
An index to academic journal literature. Over 8,000 publications are indexed, with accompanying access to the full text of the article for approximately 4,600 of these titles. Journals in the humanities, history, psychology, sociology, as well as religion & philosophy are amply represented.
- ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB)
ACLS Humanities E-Book is a digital, fully searchable collection of 3,700 high-quality books in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars and featuring unlimited multi-user access.
- Alt HealthWatch
Full-text articles for more than 180 international journals and reports covering complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
- ATLA Catholic and Periodical Index
An index to articles and reviews published in Roman Catholic periodicals. Also indexes Papal documents, church promulgations, and books about the Catholic faith that are authored by Catholics and/or produced by Catholic publishers.
- ATLA Religion Database
A religious & theological literature database produced by the American Theological Library Association containing citations to journal articles and book reviews from 1949 to the present, and essays in books from 1960 to the present. Some citations contain links to the full text of selected journal articles.
BibleWorks 8 is the licensed Bible software program used at Luther Seminary for exegesis and research. In addition to the original languages, BibleWorks also includes over 200 translations of Bible texts. BibleWorks can only be accessed from the desktop of campus computers.
- Biblical Archaeology Society Online Archive
Contains the complete editorial content of every issue of Biblical Archaeology Review from 1975 to the present in addition to the full text of five books published by the Society. The database is searchable by topic, keyword or phrase, specific issue, or by date range.
- BILDI: Documentation for Biblical Literature,Innsbruck
A freely searchable collection of indexes to biblical/theological literature. Maintained at the University of Innsbruck, Austria. Best searched by keyword.
- Book of Concord on CD-ROM
The Lutheran confessions in their new translation by Kolb and Wengert. Available only in the library.
- Business Source Complete
Full text for scholarly journals and trade publications across all business subject areas including company profiles, industry, market research, and country economic reports, and much more.
CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online) features works of art from the collections of prominent museums around the world. Images may be used (by students, faculty, and researchers) for educational and research purposes, if they are properly credited. Images may not be published or otherwise distributed.
- Canterbury Dictionary of Hymnology
Contains over 4,000 ecumenical and international individual hymn entries, from more than 300 authors (from over 30 countries) writing on hymns of the Judaeo-Christian tradition.
- Chicago Manual of Style
A standard guide to writing and publishing. The complete 16th and 15th editions can be keyword searched or browsed here.
- Consumer Health Complete
Consumer Health Complete (CHC) is the single most comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients; information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc.
- Digital Karl Barth Library
The collection features the entire corpus of Barth's Gesamtausgabe. Published under the TVZ imprint, this definitive edition of Barth's works in German currently comprises 42 volumes of theological writings, lectures, letters, sermons, and interviews. As additional print volumes of the Gesamtausgabe become available, they will be added. Also included is Barth's magnum opus, the fourteen-volume Kirchliche Dogmatik, both in the original language and with the definitive English translation. Translations of numerous other important works by Barth are also included.
- EBSCO eBooks
EBSCO eBooks can be viewed online at any time, or checked out by setting up an account. Once checked out, EBSCO eBooks can be downloaded to your computer and read offline for the length of the loan period.
- EBSCO MegaFILE
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for over 19,100 total publications and indexing; abstracting for nearly 24,000 publications. Included are more than 85,800 biographies, 118,000 primary source documents, 10,150 company profiles and an image collection of over 502,000 photos, maps and flags. EBSCO MegaFILE is comprised of EBSCO's Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier and Regional Business News databases.
- Ecole Biblique et Archéologique Française
A free database for finding articles on biblical studies, and particularly articles about specific biblical verses. For help, note the user guide
developed by the University of Minnesota Libraries.
- Elenchus Bibliographicus
This bibliographic database is one of the most thorough in covering the literature of systematic theology and canon law. In print for many years (BR1.A1 E6 Per. Rm.) this online version contains citations to journal articles and essays back to 1998 searchable by keyword, title, author, etc.
- Encyclopedia Britannica Online: Academic Edition
The complete content of the venerable 32 volume print encyclopedia reformatted for the web, with added links and continuously updated information.
- Expanded Academic ASAP
Expanded Academic ASAP offers in-depth coverage of many concentrations:advertising, psychology and history to microbiology, the humanities and women's studies. It combines indexing, abstracts, full text and multimedia, and offers more than 5,300 titles (some full-text and peer-reviewed). Balanced coverage on a variety of subjects is available in social science, humanities, general interest magazines, science & technology, and national and global news sources.
- Family & Society Studies Worldwide
An index to research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. Coverage spans from 1970 to the present.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Includes Encyclopaedia Judaica; Encyclopedia of Bioethics; Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media; Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World; Encyclopedia of Leadership; Encyclopedia of Philosophy; Encyclopedia of Religion; Encyclopedia of Science and Religion; Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender; International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences; New Catholic Encyclopedia; New Dictionary of the History of Ideas.
- Guide to Social Science & Religion in Periodical Literature
An index to popular magazines and journals in religion and the social sciences. Some denominational magazines are included.
- Index Theologicus
Produced at the University of Tubingen, this is an index to articles/essays published in theological and religious studies journals, conference proceedings and other multi-author works.
- Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
The Iter Gateway is an interdisciplinary index to book, essay, and journal literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
Arts & Sciences III includes journals in languages and literature, as well as music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the history and study of art and architecture. Additional interdisciplinary titles include folklore, feminist & women's studies.
- Luther's Works on CD-ROM
This electronic edition contains the entire 55-volume set of the American Edition published jointly by Fortress Press and Concordia Publishing House. Available only in the library.
- Luthers Werke
Luthers Werke reproduces in electronic form the entire Weimar critical edition of Luther's works in Luther's original German and Latin.
- MasterFILE Premier
An index to general periodical literature and companion to Academic Search Premier listed above. Tailored to public and K-12 libraries, this index also covers over 300 reference books, 80,000+ biographies, and more than 100,000 images.
Commentaries and other full text resources, including the New Interpreter's Bible. Click on the + to Browse the available texts, or Search by keyword or phrase.
- New Testament Abstracts
New Testament Abstracts (NTA) indexes a wide range of journals and books on New Testament topics. All abstracts are in English regardless of the language of the article. Coverage dates from 1985 to the present.
- Old Testament Abstracts
Old Testament Abstracts (OTA) is a primary indexing and abstracting tool for published literature about the Hebrew Bible and its social/historical context. It indexes journal articles and books from 1978 to the present. All abstracts are in English.
- Oxford Biblical Studies Online
This resource provides the full content of six study Bibles published by Oxford University Press, in addition to related supplementary reference texts and commentaries also published by Oxford.
- Oxford English Dictionary
This online version of the authoritative dictionary contains all 20 volumes of the second edition plus the 3 volumes of Additions. New and revised entries, part of the complete revision the OED is undergoing, will be incorporated as they are ready.
- Oxford Reference
Includes Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment, Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages, Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium, Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance, Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation, and Oxford Essential Quotations.
- Packard Humanities Institute Greek and Latin Discs (PHI)
PHI is a full-text, 2 CD-ROM database which contains classical Latin and Greek texts, papyri, and several versions of the Bible. Available only in the library.
- Palgrave Macmillan eBooks
Books in this collection may be read by multiple users simultaneously. There is no restriction on length of loan.
- Post-Reformation Digital Library
A database of primary source documents from the late 15th-18th centuries connecting to publicly accessible digital collections in research libraries and centers across North American and Europe.
- Proquest Newstand Complete
A full-text database of over 350 newspapers from around the world. Included are many national U.S. newspapers such as the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, as well as the Minneapolis Star Tribune. International newspapers include the London Times and the Guardian.
- Religious and Theological Abstracts
An index to articles appearing in scholarly journals in religion and theology since 1958. Each of the article citations includes a fully searchable abstract in English.
- Research in Ministry
Research in Ministry (RIM) indexes and abstracts project reports and theses from over 100 Doctor of Ministry, Doctor of Missiology, and Doctor of Educational Ministry programs accredited by the Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada. RIM Online is a searchable database with entries for authors, titles, thesis/project advisors, schools, and ATLA Thesaurus subject headings.
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG)
The TLG database is a digital library of Greek literature containing virtually all Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600. Work continues to add surviving texts up to the fall of Byzantium in 1453.
- Twentieth Century Religious Thought
This Alexander Street Press product features works by key worldwide religious thinkers, from the early 1900s until the turn of the 21st century. You'll find resources for scholarship in social theory, feminist studies, philosophy, and world history. The collection is fully cross-searchable with the Digital Karl Barth Library.
- WorldCat Classic
WorldCat is a database of millions of bibliographic records for books, audiovisual media, web resources, and other materials contributed by OCLC member libraries worldwide. This link accesses the traditional search interface. Our catalog search box on the library's home page goes to the newer WorldCat search interface.